Posted by pinolobu on January 4, 2008 at 10:52 pm
This afternoon I got the following forwarded SMS (verbatim, except names and IDs):
Frm a fren mr exxxx cxxxx - To all my associates. Dubaimlm is giving out FREE credit card with a USD 500 awarded upon signup. Im shring this wth u. pls login w.w.w.dubaimlm.com and my id. II0044xxx. gd luck. tq exxxx. pls signup ur geng too.
Even before checking things out deeper, alarm bells already started ringing:
- beware of anything that says “free” in big letters, and anything the promises free money.
- misspellings and improperly constucted sentences in SMSes are common, but it suggests lack of professionalism on the senders’ part.
Later, digging deeper, I can say the following: do not join this!
The site is affiliated with one Phil Picollo, a notorious scammer.
Archived under alert
Posted by pinolobu on August 27, 2007 at 6:29 am
This is an invitation for everybody to set up their own “SMS infoservice” to make a fast buck. And this has been going on for years.
As reported by New Straits Times, 27th Nov, these guys send you SMSes, and you have to pay for them! But each time it’s a few cents only (perhaps 15 sen), so you hardly notice. But the total that these many “mobile phone content providers” make runs into the millions. Read the rest of this entry »
Archived under alert
Posted by pinolobu on October 27, 2006 at 5:52 am
Archived under alert
Posted by pinolobu on August 29, 2006 at 11:37 am
According to Business Times Malaysia (6th Sep), as reported by Roziana Hamsawi (bt@nstp.com.my)
THE Swiss Cash fund, an Internet-based investment programme promoted by Swiss Mutual Fund, has not been approved nor endorsed by the Securities Commission (SC).
SC and Bank Negara Malaysia issued a statement yesterday to inform the public that they should only invest through parties that have been licensed by the authorities.
"When in doubt, the public should check with Bank Negara, the SC or other relevant authority on the licensing status of the local or foreign company before making any investment," they said.
Swiss Mutual Fund, they said is not licensed nor exempted from licensing by Bank Negara to accept deposits. It is also not licensed by the SC to carry out asset management activities or services in Malaysia.
Swiss Cash fund is an Internet-based investment programme promoted by Swiss Mutual Fund, a fund management company claimed to be registered overseas. It offers the funds through the Internet and local agents.
Members of the public are advised to contact the SC and Bank Negara for enquiries on the fund at the following numbers: 03-62048999 (SC), 03-26910824 (Bank Negara).
More reasons why this is a scam:
- http://tuahemas.com/blog/e-biz/swisscash-scam/
- http://www.tuahemas.com/forum/showthread.php?t=105&highlight=swiss+cash
- http://www.scamfraudalert.com/showthread.php?t=1191
Swiss Embassy warning:
- http://www.eda.admin.ch/kualalumpur_emb/e/home.html
Archived under alert
Posted by pinolobu on May 3, 2006 at 11:59 pm
It’s a Malaysian-based pyramid scheme, clear as crystal. Modus operandi similar to the BSN scam long time ago.
Doing a whois query turned this up:
Nama co: Reality Dreams Education
Nama: Razif
Emel: awekkulim3580@yahoo.com
Tempat: Kuala lumpur
Poskod: 53330
Tel: 012-2633063
Reg: Feb 2006
Exp: Feb 2007
Don’t even think of joining! I don’t think they’ll even bother to renew the domain lease next year.
Archived under alert